FHA Mortgage Loan Limits for Salem County, New Jersey

Below are the 2021 loan limits for single family homes for Salem County, New Jersey.

Single Family Home Loan Limits:



FHA Mortgage


What's the Difference Between Conventional and FHA Loans?

A conventional mortgage is a loan that originates from a private lender and is not backed by the government. Loan qualification can be more challenging, but the loan limits are typically higher than FHA loan limits. As a result, a conventional loan provides more purchasing power.

FHA mortgage loans are typically easier to qualify for than a conventional loan as they are insured by the U.S. government. FHA loan limits are typically lower than conventional loans and must meet the official HUD minimum property standards. A great option for those with a higher risk profile, but purchasing power is reduced compared to a conventional loan.

Read more about the differences

What are FHA Loan Limits?

The Federal Housing Administration (FHA) establishes a maximum loan amount, or loan limit, that it will insure. This is known as the FHA lending limit. These loan limits are calculated and updated annually.

Learn more about how FHA loan limits impact home buyers

County Insights

Estimated Population (2018): 62,385

Cities and Towns:

  • Elmer, NJ
  • Penns Grove, NJ
  • Woodstown, NJ
  • Salem, NJ
  • Alloway, NJ
  • Carneys Point, NJ
  • Elsinboro, NJ
  • Lower Alloways Creek, NJ
  • Mannington, NJ
  • Oldmans, NJ
  • Pennsville, NJ
  • Pilesgrove, NJ
  • Pittsgrove, NJ
  • Quinton, NJ
  • Upper Pittsgrove, NJ

Details courtesy of County Insights

Explore other counties in New Jersey